Skip to content

Mushroom-Tomato Bisque

20 March 2009

mushroom-tomato-bisque

Everyone has comfort food; pasta, meat & potatoes, casseroles. That’s all fine and good as far as comfort food goes, but my ultimate choice for bad days and hard times is tomato soup with grilled cheese sandwiches. As a kid I remember having a picnic underneath our kitchen table–checked table-cloth and everything—with grilled tuna & cheese sandwiches and bowls of Campbell’s tomato soup. I wanted a “grown up” version of this meal, and I think I might have found it.

I had to do a LOT of tweaking to a basic tomato soup recipe to find something that I liked, but I think I’ve finally got it.

Mushroom-Tomato Bisque

2 Tbsp butter
½ onion, chopped
3 stalks celery, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
2 cups sliced mushrooms
1 16 oz. can tomatoes, undrained, cut up
1 8 oz. can tomato sauce
1 14 oz. can chicken broth
½ cup whipping cream
¼ cup brown sugar
1 tsp. salt
Ground pepper to taste
2 tsp dried dill weed

Melt butter in large saucepan, add onion, celery and garlic and cook until tender. Add mushrooms and cook until they are tender as well.

Stir in tomatoes, tomato sauce, chicken broth, whipping cream, brown sugar, salt, pepper and dill. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes. Cool soup slightly.

In batches, puree soup in a blender until smooth and creamy. Return to saucepan and heat through, check spices (salt & pepper), and serve with crunchy cheese toast.

Comments are closed.